Having A Better Understanding Of The Five Days Of Hajj

The pilgrimage to Hajj is an important part of a Muslim’s life. It takes place during five days between Dhu al-Hijjah (8th-12th) on the Islamic calendar. There are rituals that take place each day. It is unlikely that most Muslims will make this pilgrimage more than once in their lifetime, so it is important to plan ahead to make it meaningful. This blog will explain the five days of Hajj to help you understand what to expect on your pilgrimage.

First Day of Hajj (8th Dhu Al-Hijjah).

Hajj begins on the 8th Dhu Al-Hijjah. Pilgrims are reminded of their duties as well as the prohibitions against ihram starting. Pilgrims are required to wear the ihram clothes and declare their intention to make the pilgrimage.

Pilgrims travel to Mina after morning prayers. Pilgrims spend the day here and perform noon, evening, and night prayers.

Second Day of Hajj (9th Dhu Al-Hijjah).

Pilgrims travel from Mina to Arafat after morning prayers. This is 20km from Mecca. Pilgrims are required to stand in contemplative Vigil at Arafat. They must repent and atone for past sins and listen to sermons by scholars close to the Jabal al Rahmah (The Mount of Mercy). This is also known as “standing before God” (wuquf), and it lasts from noon until sunset.

Pilgrims travel to Muzdalifah after sunset. They don’t need to pray until they arrive at their destination. Pilgrims spend the night in Muzdalifah praying, sleeping under the open sky, and collecting pebbles for the next morning’s ritual to stoning Satan.

The third, fourth, and fifth Hajj days (10th, 11th and 12th Dhu al Hijjah, respectively)

Third Day of Hajj

Eid al Asha is the third day of Hajj. It begins with pilgrims returning from Mina to perform Ramy al-Jamarat, the stoning or the Devil. They throw stones at the largest walls (previously pillars). After the stoning, both male and female pilgrims must trim or shave their hair.

Animals are frequently killed to commemorate the stories of Abraham and Ishmael. Pilgrims used to slaughter the animals, but today they only purchase vouchers that allow an animal to be killed in their name. The meat is then processed, and sent to the poor around the globe.

After the Tawaf al-Ifadah, the pilgrims return to Mina to spend their night.

Fourth and Fifth Days of Hajj

The fourth and fifth day of Hajj are when pilgrims perform the stoning the Devil. They throw seven stones at the Mina walls. The stoning of the Devil takes place at noon each day. Pilgrims must leave Mina for Mecca by sunset on the 12th.

Pilgrims who are unable or unwilling to leave Mina by sunset on the 12th must perform the stoning ritual of the Devil again before returning to Mecca on 13th. This is known as the conditional sixth-day.

Hi, I’m Benjamin Lopez